A SOUL, A HUMAN, A GOD

Posted: January 20, 2015 in EZEAMALUKWUO SPEAKS 2, Poetry

by Okoye Chukwudi Ezeamalukwuo

I love to take a walk in the evening
On the old asphalt road
With an abandoned well at its end
There I would pause to rest my feet
Bend me down to pick wild flowers
And look deep down to the black beneath
Scream to the dead and say;
Tell if you know, what is on the other side?

I am a being plagued by an alien doctrine
Politics, metaphysics and religion are my terms
My tongue is laden with conspiracies,
I do question my being
My shirt is of silk and not of raffia,
My necklace is gold, not coweries
I keep rediscovering myself.

Indeed I have charted the courses of many rivers,
The Pison and the Gihon, the Eurphrates and the Tigris
Yet I still don’t know where I came from
Or where I am inevitably going.
At night I dream that I hover among the stars,
And in the day, I put my hands in my pocket
And drift like the clouds.
I am one with the wind, either here or there,
Stretch out your hand, you can never tell me from the crowd.
I am whatever you call me;
I am a soul, a human, a god.

Liberty of Creativity

Comments
  1. Sheyzznote says:

    A poem after my heart! Love this so much. I am also a human, a soul and a god! Brilliant boss!

  2. @LegendaryCJN says:

    Singing…”me sef I be human being o”
    Nice one bro

Leave a Reply

