FROM THE HILLTOP (Poetry)

Posted: July 18, 2014 in Poetry
Tags:

by Agha Somto Kerian

From this hilltop I stand, gazing
Upon the country side.
What a golden eve!
Hand on my temple like a weary miner
And the other on my waist like the maiden in labour.
In my loneliness I’ve gone, devouring
Grief and sorrow,
And have lost the glow of happiness.
Lest my eyes be shut to this banquet
Of flesh and blood.
Can my ears pretend not to hear the moan
Of the terrified wind and flood?
My hands tremble with the thoughts of what is yet to come.
How could the heart concede of such wickedness,
Or should science be cursed?
Man’s inhumanity to creation,
Hearts seeking vengeance without cause.
Clouds of death and tears decorates the sky.
Claps of weapons and screams of widows
And orphans leaves us; a rhythmless music.
No one is immune to the carnal fumes,
Even the blind can smell war in the air.
He that doubts the prophecies should be afraid in time
He that knows the third prophecy;
Fatima mysteries, would understand!
Climb this hilltop with me
Stare at my gloomy face,
And share in my shredded thoughts.
Is it too late to wave the white flag of peace,
Now stained with blood and guilt?
There is still time to bend the knee.
As for me, I will climb,
Bear witness and work,
Till the golden trumpet is heard!

Lyriversity — Liberty of Creativity

Comments
  1. LegendaryCJN says:

    Nice read
    The voice of peace is calling out. I shall climb to the hilltop and look it in the face, and even embrace it.
    We are not irredeemable yet. The blood and guilt-stained clothe can still be washed clean is only we wash it together.
    A timely clarion call.

  2. Grrraciano says:

    Nice piece!!!

  3. Anene Francis says:

    Beautiful piece. Mr CJN took the exert words from my mouth… With you I must join and ponder why these evils we bring upon ourselves still persist, and how I can contribute to amending the situation not deterred by the seemingly hopelessness.

  4. timnwaobilo says:

    Something spiritual seductively saturates same speech.
    I gotta re-read.
    This world, as we know it, comes to it’s end.

Leave a Reply

