I NAME BUTTERFLIES (Poetry)

Posted: July 15, 2014 in Poetry

by Tares Banigoe Oburumu

I

I have found the song, Alice.
After many years, alone in vinculum.

You were hope-sodden, a foetus, strapped to a lyre, stooped in an age.
Waiting under the hibiscus haloes by the lakeside.

The mermaids are here, dressed in gold ala mode.
Gathering on the water solid instruments of music;
Pound-notes, roof-keys, lady-beetles-on-four-wheels,
And a city of audience, showing dimples blue.

You have been born as I stand above limelight.
The promise that I will be Warren Buffet
When garden pastures become green.
An elf is on the guitar. In your hand is love
In a voice-box.
Sing mother, sing.
A song for the butterflies.


Tares Banigoe Oburumu is a young Nigerian poet, his latest work; a poetry chapbook ” A breath of me” is currently making waves. “I Name Butterflies” is one of the poems in the Chapbook. To download the chapbook for free click here:
A Breath of Me

Lyriversity — Liberty of Creativity

Comments
  1. Ezeamalukwuo says:

    I love this…and I will take time to go through your chapbook, and to write a review if possible.

  2. Anene Francis says:

    I hear two voices- mother and daughter expressing love and joy; joy heightened by expectancy… Beautiful piece

  3. timnwaobilo says:

    A Beautiful piece.
    Fancy love.
    Fairy love.
    This is a song.
    A song of words, beautiful love words.

Leave a Reply

