INSIDE NIGERIA: The Struggle Ahead

Posted: May 26, 2014 in Articles, INSIDE NIGERIA
Tags: , ,

by Okoye Chukwudi Charles Ezeamalukwuo

The children of the light sit in the moonlight telling tales
While the children of the night seek to redraw the outline of the moon.

—Music of the Flute

I have always heard the saying: “It is easier said than done.” Yet I didn’t appreciate the meaning of it until after the events of today. My day began with an early morning nap which drags on till 8 am (sorry, that’s joblessness at work), followed by brushing of teeth and bathing, dressing up and going out. I went down to get me some breakfast (Okpa and pap), but because I had a case in the police station by 10 am I had to leave it with the seller, promising her that I would return to collect them, which I never got the chance to do. On getting to the police station, the matter which involved me by oversight and which to all is no serious case, led me into making a statement and afterwards got thrown in the cell till 8 pm when I was bailed for N5,000, while my colleagues were also bailed for N5000 each. But the sad thing about it, is that the police are yet to investigate any of the issue raised. In fact it became very obvious to us that all the police wanted from the get go was our money. We struggled against giving them the money, but after some hours of staying in that god-forsaken cell, our will were defeated and we bulged in.

I am writing this, not because I want the world to know that I have been inside a cell, No! But I want to use this avenue to call the attention of a conscienceless world to the plight of many innocent Nigerian citizen whose crime alone is not having an oga at the top to plead their case. When I was in the cell, I saw about 30 young Nigerians mostly (if not all) less than 30 years of age clamped in a small space, without mat or mattress, without food or water or light, every thing is for hire. Some boys have been their for over a week, some; months even, without cause. From the gate one is expected to start the bribing marathon, from the receptionist for direction, to the DPO for supplication. Every air, every sigh, every movement is in sync with corruption and intimidation.

And yes I’d learnt a practical lesson about life, about the Nigerian security and Judiciary system. One; Nigeria has no law…no protection for its citizen, no plans for the youth. Two; Police is no friend of the common man. Three; the rot in our system is endemic, of the biblical proportion. And the poor are the sole victim of this carnivorous entity called Nigeria.

Furthermore, my confidence was shaken today…my will to work towards changing Nigeria and doing the right thing was shattered still. If I couldn’t bear a night in this heavenly cell (as I was told by a fellow innate) how then can I endure the far worst tribulations that will arise in my quest to change Nigeria. I was humbled by this experience that I discovered my long lost faith in the dungeon of despair. I prayed and silently cried out to God; Father why have you forsaken me…you may laugh at this but it was not a laughing matter. I now know what some of those Amen youths are feeling, sometimes you have no more consolation than God or the Idea of God.

I also did learn how to act and ways to react towards this deranged system we have now. The struggle ahead is rough but we the people, the good ones who the situation of Nigeria is hurting, we need not lose hope. I haven’t. I only wish to reiterate my early statement…we need to be better organised, if we are to get a scratch on this monster tormenting us all. People are suffering unjustly this very minute, people are dying for no just cause, yet we who cry and scream, who call for phantoms to bring back our girls, who castigate left and right are busy doing nothing…busy flexing, sleeping, hustling, drinking, partying, arguing, facebooking, dreaming etc yet the words we daily utter, the doing is still left undone…and the innocents, those who cannot help themselves are getting dead and gone.

The statement, views and opinions in this column are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of Lyriversity.

Lyriversity — Liberty of Creativity

Comments
  1. LegendaryCJN says:

    …And this is just a tip of the iceberge of what is happening in our country…
    Many ordeals remain unheard as we speak.
    I apologize on behalf of our dear country.
    My good man.

    • Ezeamalukwuo says:

      Apologises Unnecessary…at least for me for now….But yes, a lot…a whole lot of people are suffering silently…and the system isn’t helping anyone at all….except for those who have made the system doomed…and yes this is just a tip, a very minute tip of the iceberg of the atrocities committed every second in this entity called Nigeria.

  2. Moses opara says:

    This tells about our nation in a clear way.

  3. talesmen says:

    My Better man! Wetin happen? Let’s talk in private please. There is more sorrow in this right up than the feeling of the writer, if some hours in cell was something you’ll never wish your enemies, imagine those spending weeks and months. I fear for the future of the now, I fear for this Nigeria we all know!

  4. Anene Francis says:

    Situations that make or mar. That emitic herb that empty many a stomach but harden a number of bones. Be it a drop or a bowl, It’s same onslaught in all that swallow. Pele… That dreaded path Mandela trod to freedom craved. Who can work a mile in it and not flinch? Courage my people. I’m not giving up either. Great write up mr Solar.
    (Chai, What can I do more?… Brainstorming)

Leave a Reply

