THE BLACK WIDOW (Scene VIII-IX)

Posted: February 25, 2014 in DRAMA
Tags: , ,

by Tim Nwaobilo

CAST

Adanma- Widow
Silas- Widow’s husband
Ikenna- Widow’s brother-in-law
Chinyere- Silas’ cousin (village women leader)
Kelechi- Widow’s mother
Roberts- Doctor

CONTINUATION

Scene VIII

IKENNA: So, Adanma, what are you going to do?

ADANMA: What do you want me to do? I will not leave this house for you or anybody. I have said it before and I’m saying it again, you hear me?

IKENNA: See, woman, there is no need for you to sound tough. We can treat this matter in such a way that you will benefit immensely. (Clears throat) Look, you don’t have to feel hopeless. You are a beautiful woman, and moreover, you are my late husband’s wife; so I’ll treat you with love and care. Come and live with me as my third wife. I will take care of your children as my own. You see?

ADANMA: Ikenna, you are wicked and evil.

IKENNA: No, I’m only trying to help you out.

ADANMA: You are a devil. You are now pretending that you are kind and good: a saint, when your real intention is to continue the punishment you and your people have unjustly meted out to me.

IKENNA: It is your good that I seek. It is a pity you have suffered this way but it is not my fault, and that is the way tradition goes.

ADANMA: It is not your fault but you are playing your own part in it.

IKENNA: Adanma, listen, you—

ADANMA: (interjecting) Don’t touch me. Don’t try to touch me again. Ever. If I were a widower would I be abused the way I have been abused? Eh? I am asking you. But as I am a widow and defenceless, I have been put through terrible hardship and violence. And now you come and tell me to marry you. (Sarcastically) So, this is how much you loved and respected your brother? As soon as he is buried, you want to make his widow your wife. Not just your wife, but your third wife.

IKENNA: It is out of respect for him that I want to marry you.

ADANMA: Respect? What a respect! I will not marry you, and it’s final.

IKENNA: Since you have refused to listen to the voice of reason, you will leave this house now with your children and never return.

ADANMA: (defiantly) I will not leave and you cannot do anything.

IKENNA: I can’t do anything? You just watch. (Quiet for some seconds) Pick those your bags; you and your children leave. Now!

ADANMA: (crying) You are throwing me out of my husband’s house? Please have pity on me, I have children with me. Please…

IKENNA: (shouting) I said leave. Or do you want me to call the village youths who will forcefully push you out?

ADANMA: (pleading) Please, Ikenna, please don’t do this to us.

IKENNA: I said leave.

ADANMA: Oh, no.

Scene IX

KELECHI: Who is that crying? Adanma? Why are you are crying and what are you doing here with your children? And you even have your luggage with you. What happened?

ADANMA: We were thrown out of the house.

KELECHI: Who threw you out?

ADANMA: Ikenna.

KELECHI: My God! These your husband’s people are terrible. Come inside with the children. What?!

ADANMA: (crying) See, what they have done to me and my children. Ikenna has been pestering me to marry him as his third wife.

KELECHI: To marry him? Oh my daughter, you have suffered. I’m so sorry. Children, go inside the kitchen; you will see some food there. Eat while I discuss with your mother. So, Ikenna asked you to marry him? I can’t imagine that Ikenna would do such a thing.

ADANMA: I told him I couldn’t marry him; that over my dead body would I marry him. Before then, he had told me to leave my husband’s house. He said I wasn’t from their village and couldn’t possess anything there. I refused to leave; that was when he offered to marry me. When I rejected that too he ordered me to pack out of the house. He threatened to report me to the village head.

KELECHI: He should have reported you. The village head would have cautioned him.

ADANMA: No, mama, you don’t understand. They are all the same thing. The village head would probably have made it worse for me. Imagine involving the whole village.

KELECHI: This is pure evil. Evil.

ADANMA: (lamenting) I don’t know why all this should be happening to me. I don’t deserve this. I have been tortured, both physically and psychologically. I have been forced to eat and drink things I would never have thought of taking. Look at my hair. I am nearly bald. My mind has been torn apart till I’m now nothing more than a jungle beast.

KELECHI: Where did he expect you to go with your children? How did he expect you to live?

ADANMA: Mama, he cared less. If I hadn’t left when I did, he would have brought in the village youths to forcefully evict us.

KELECHI: This is serious.

ADANMA: Maybe I should never have married. Then I won’t be going through this horrible experience.

KELECHI: Don’t say that, my daughter. It’s not because you got married that’s the problem. It’s not even because you got married to Silas. No. Afterall, Silas loved you with all his life. The problem is the tradition you were married into: the horrible tradition. A wicked, most horrible tradition. If you hadn’t married Silas, would you have had these beautiful children? No! Mba! So, just take heart, my daughter. This is violence against women. Crimes against women deeply embedded in tradition. And what does society do about this? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. I wonder if there are legislation against practices such as these. Our law-makers just sit up there and don’t know what goes on under. People like Ikenna and Chinyere should spend the next 20 years in prison. By the time 10 to 20 people go to jail, this devilish degradation of widows will be greatly curbed.

ADANMA: That’s their business. What I have suffered is enough to last me a life time. Mama, I’m hungry.

KELECHI: Let me go and get you something to eat. (Sounds a little distant as she moves away) The only thing society does is to make movies out of situations like this. That’s all, and that’s were all efforts end.

ADANMA: Mama, you know what? I just remembered something.

KELECHI: What is that?

ADANMA: A few years ago I watched a movie, and the woman in that movie went through exactly all I have gone through.

KELECHI: (amusingly) Eh-heh?

ADANMA Her name was…what was it again…? Adanma. That was her name. And the title was…had something like ‘widow’ in it…Black Widow…The Black Widow. That was the name. Mama, its sort of a coincidence, but…

KELECHI: The black widow? You see what I mean? Movies, movies, and movies; and that’s were all efforts end.

THE END

Tim Nwaobilo is a young mechanical engineer with a flair for literary works. He writes poems, short stories, plays, critiques and articles quite frequently. He has had his short stories and several poems aired on some local radio stations and is a columnist for some blogsites. He spends half the year in Port Harcourt and the other half in Ile-Ife.

Lyriversity — Liberty of Creativity

Comments
  1. Anene Francis says:

    Ha! The end? And my popcorn is far from finished. If this was a nollywood movie, we would have heard: watch out for ‘the return of the Black Widow’ lol…
    The plight of a typical maltreated widow laid bare, calling for abolition of bad traditions that encourage this and for the society to be more sympathetic… Although the drama did not extend further, I know that no crime or evil goes unpunished. Fate, the arbiter.
    Suggestion: “Why are you are crying…” > do check this sentence for typo.

    Thumbs up mr Tim. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

