STRANGER

Posted: February 13, 2014 in Poetry
Tags:

Chimezie Francis Chika

You knocked on my door
I never wanted to open.
The sound–the echo–
of your pleadings–
your knocks–
sucked into my heart.

The knob turned
left . . . right . . .
I saw
the dangerous passion in your eyes
And recoiled slowly–reluctantly.

But you knocked unremittingly
on the heart of my door
on the door of my heart
so I creaked it open
and you burrowed deep inside
like a snake.

Now I am afraid
you will never be out.
Even when this quarrel of ours
is morphing
twisting
outrageously . . . outlandishly
into a secret war.
Even when our hearts are
polar regions apart
I know you will never be out
you will never be . . .

Bio:
Chimezie Chika is currently a student of Imo State University, Owerri. His writings has appeared in a number of online platforms and has been a finalist for the Africa Book Club Short Reads Competition.

Lyriversity — Liberty of Creativity

Comments
  1. Anene Francis says:

    Permit me to give this an alternative meaning: The persistence of suduction. You give in, neglecting the warning signs, you are finished.
    Nice poem. Keep it up

  2. Could it be a appropriate to tag the “you” (the persona) in your piece, a sucker?
    Maybe a “she” that wasn’t giving up, despite the tumult relationship,and a “he” (you) that never resists the temptations of opening the “door of his heart and the heart of his door”…He smiles!!!
    Nice poem, bro.

Leave a Reply

