I DONT WANT TO BE JUST ANOTHER WRITER

Posted: February 13, 2014 in Poetry, Uncategorized

Photo by Okoye Chukwudi Charles

Photo by Okoye Chukwudi Charles

by Okoye Chukwudi Charles Ezeamalukwuo

I don’t want to be just another writer
With high sentence and upright pose
A man prodding over parables and poems
Blending facts with fiction
Another lover making love with the pen
In the whorehouse of literature.
I don’t want to be just another face in the crowd
Another fish in the sea, swimming with the rest
Navigating the same current like many
Have done long before me.
I don’t want to be just a name on a book
Another voice in the wilderness,
Another prophet, a forerunner
Preaching the gambit; a preparatory message
Before heedless ears of a world
That will very much get along without me
I would rather be the promised messiah,
The anointed one whose death was long foretold
The words imprisoned in every book,
The story that leaps up from every page
That hungry african child frolicking with the sand
That dictator on the iron throne,
Supervising the killing of my people
Or the arabian maiden singing in the field
I would rather be the prince, and easy fool
The negro that speaks of the river
When mississippi turned golden in the sun
Flowing backward in time, into the garden of Eden
Where once stood Adam, That cursed man
Sucking on Eve’s temptress breast,
And biting the apple full from her hands.
I would rather be a soldier, a rebel, an activist
On the streets marching for the freedom of my kin
An unsung hero, an unknown patriot
A war criminal, the victim
That condemned man languishing in the dungeon of despair,
A lonely widow, a poor man, a beggar.
For what am I, as a writer
If not the very subject of my writing?

Lyriversity — Liberty of Creativity

Comments
  1. Chimezie says:

    What I like in your poems is that they give voice to our mute wishes. Well done.

  2. On a rather comical not, I just say I’m waiting to see what you’d be from what you don’t wanna be…all eyes on you!!!…the new 2pac on lyriversity

  3. I too refuse to be yet another reader… Stunned often by wisely woven metaphors… I refused to keep wishing I wrote the finely finished wood work of great stories… I too will pick a pen… And re-write my history… Restore fallen Eden and place her her back into a defined geography… I refuse to be yet another reader, writer, and art lover… I make myself the subject of earth’s last sentence!!!

  4. DANIEL says:

    I refuse to be another writer… Writing to impress sons of men… I insted wil be history’s umpire… That dictates the beginning from the end..

  5. Anene Francis says:

    Purposeful writing, not for its sake only but expecting results/ impacts. Breaking away from mediocrity. Rather be found in one of the scanty extremes, good or bad, than the over populated middle…You said.

    To be noticed one must do something remakably different from the average or common. There are two ways to be noticed: either by doing something very good (Gandhi) or doing something very bad (Osama). Although conscience demands the former always be the case…
    (Your revised version of Eden story na wa o lol)
    Well done mr Solar.

  6. Nur'ayn says:

    Fantastic, glad I ran into this. Did Adam do any ‘sucking’ in Eden? I really don’t know. I’ll be looking forward to reading more of your works.

Leave a Reply

