SONG OF THE NIGHTINGALE (from The Journey of the Soul)

Posted: January 30, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

by Okoye Chukwudi Charles Ezeamalukwuo

The Dusk’s hue comes in black and blue,
And each night my tears fall like dew;
While I wander the shadow’s deep,
While I savour my restless sleep.

The gloomy sky bears dark dreams,
Souls of damned and shadows it brings.
The Nightingale sings its sad hymns.
And I can’t help but sigh. It sings,

“The Earth breathed, giving human life,
Then she slowly kills him with strife.
The moon shines brilliantly at night,
But comes after the death of light.

“I see her silvery circle,
Her smirk and her crescent dimple.
I see her shining bright tonight,
The light that now obscures my light

“She beseechs me to stop and sleep,
To lend eyes to shadows of deep.
She prays me to desert my path,
The dreams that shed light to my heart.

“Aye, she shines brilliantly tonight;
The light that now obscures my light.
Aye, she shines brilliantly tonight,
But comes only at death of light.”

From the yon I hear this chilled song
In the wind and the eastern tongue;
While I wander the shadow’s deep,
While I savour my restless sleep.

All rights reserved.

No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying or otherwise without the written permission of the publishers.

Lyriversity — Liberty of Creativity

Leave a Reply

